what 3 months of TLC (tender love and care) can do

Several months ago as i open the sliding door leading to the terrace, i was surprised to see a thin small cat by the door meowing for attention and food. I knew he was hungry as he was meowing nonstop. I hurriedly gave him food and water and he gobbled up as soon as i put down the bowl.

I tried petting him as he ate and did not hiss. As i stroked him, i noticed he was thin as i could feel every bone under his thin fur. He had a lot of bald patches, lots of scars, some open wounds and lots of cat lice eggs that look like white dots on the strands of his fur. I knew this kitty needed help. He looks like he had a rough time in trying to SURVIVE out of his own fending for himself. So, I just let him get settled at the terrace and by late afternoon i noticed he was still there. He made the terrace his home. After several days when i felt that he was comfortable enough to trust me, I brought him to the vet for a much needed exam. He was vaccinated, dewormed and given anti-lice treatment. After 2 weeks i took him to the vet again for anti-rabies shot.

These days he is rounder and definitely gained a lot of weight. And as i stroke his fur now, it is evident how thick it has grown. In just a short time, he transformed from an ugly thin and sick looking cat to a beautiful black panther with bright golden eyes… truly a GOLDIE.

The Daily Post Weekly Photo Challenge: EVANESCENT

Update: Goldie got neutered and finally an indoor cat. He is my number 7.

7 thoughts on “what 3 months of TLC (tender love and care) can do

    • elizz says:

      seeing how happy and healthy cats become after a rescue and tlc has a lot of rewards.. made me so happy too.. thank you for visiting 🙂

    • elizz says:

      that’s so nice of you.. black cats are the hardest to find homes.. well, goldie is still quite a bit aloof but he has improved a lot and tolerates me stroking his fur and responds when i call his name.

Leave a comment