goodbye Lemon

Yesterday morning i lost Lemon.. It was as if she just waited for me to wake up because she knows that i will go straight to her and check on her which i do everyday. I hold on to her and she did not even struggle, no biting, no chirps. She was just so weak to do that. I noticed how thin she was under those orange and and yellow feathers. I gently dipped her beak to her water bowl and she sipped a little. I began to worry because she feels cold. I wrapped her in both of my palms to give her warmth but i know her end is near. I decided to take some photos because i know i may never see her again…

As i was taking photos, she slowly faded away, looked at me and closed her eyes one last time. And there i was, i couldn’t stop it from happening, i was trembling and i was crying watching her fade.

Lemon and Lime were given to us way back 2009. If they were a year old at that time, Lemon is about 9 years old.

I will miss her. I will miss her noisy happy chirps and her PENCHANT of crunchy vegetable stalks. Oh boy, she loved them. (Lime loved vegetable stalks too). I used to watch her biting at the stalks and make little threads out of them which she would then tuck in her feathers to bring it to her nest.

Goodbye Lemon. Fly free little one… Lime is at the rainbow bridge to welcome you. I could almost imagine how happy you are with Lime now… perched on a tree and singing happy chirps while kissing beak to beak.

15 thoughts on “goodbye Lemon

    • elizz says:

      thank you.. really felt so sad when lemon passed.. but she was an old lady.. i guess lemon and lime are now together.. chirping happy songs at the bridge..

Leave a Reply

