learning the art of cooking

When i was still living in my parent’s house, i never cook. My mother does all the cooking. She’s one talented cook. I remembered all the dishes she served us through the years and somehow they served as inspiration when it was time for me to cook for my own family.

Is cooking a talent or a skill? For me it is both. One needs to learn the skill to be able to know the techniques and be talented. While some learns faster and finds it easier some don’t. It is really the love of cooking that inspires us to be better, to try again and to improve our creation.

The need to serve delectable food on the table and my love for cooking made me  a good cook (that’s according to my children).  Over the years, i learned and continue to learn. I never follow an exact recipe but rather relies on inspiration from recipes that i read, or cooking shows that i’ve watched. The problem with recipes or in cooking shows is that either the ingredients are not available locally or just cannot be found or just plain expensive so there is a need to be creative in switching to an alternative ingredient which i do most of the time and that’s where my MAGIC goes to action.

For today, i am sharing my own version of SALMON PASTA WITH MUSHROOM AND SPINACH IN WHITE SAUCE. To put it simply it’s just an ordinary pasta dish with shredded salmon toppings. It is so easy to prepare.

Season salmon with salt, pepper and rosemary. Pan fried in oil (or add butter if you wish) til cooked. Set aside to cool and shred the meat. Then prepare white sauce or bechamel sauce. Put some butter on pan, add a little flour while constantly stirring then pour in milk (or add cream for a thicker sauce) and season with salt and pepper. (My secret ingredient is pork bouillon cube for the sauce flavoring). Add the shredded salmon, mushroom and spinach. Set aside some shredded salmon for toppings. Serve on cooked spaghetti, fettuccine, linguine or any pasta that you like.

20160824_154407aaa

A post would not be complete without kitty photos. Sharing with you Puti’s adventures. She decided to dive into my bag. I’m not really sure what she’s looking for.. “Sweetie, i got no MILLIONS in my bag.”.

20160927_122317aaa

Oh, what did you find? Sorry for interrupting your adventure kitty but mommy’s gotta go. 

20160927_122443aaa

Puti my foster kitty has that habit of going inside of just about anything, bag or shopping bag, plastic bag which i am always closely monitoring for safety, cabinets and drawers. One advise for cat parents, never leave shopping bags, especially plastic ones just lying around the house. They should be kept properly as kitties love them and sometimes get stuck or snagged on their handles.

Happy Wednesday and i hope my kitty Puti made you smile today.

10 thoughts on “learning the art of cooking

Leave a Reply

