my 4-legged bodyguard

Marwind of Gershephund is actually the full real name of my German Shepherd dog. I got him from the breeder at 2 months old. On his certificate, he is registered as black and tan; sire Meghana’s Lifeline Jasper; dam Dora Von Der Nacht – daughter of PH Champ Ebby Z. Milabru. That means that Marwind is the grandson of a Philippine Champ. How cool is that.

The DARKNESS of his coat is very visible during his puppy days and as months passed, his coat slowly turns lighter and these days he is now sporting the black and tan coat.

marwindpix

Above first photo is when he’s 3 months old, the second photo he’s 7 months and the third photo was just taken recently and he’s now 1 and a half years old. He (together with my rescued local dog Rafraf) is the culprit behind my destroyed potted plants. But it’s okay because i love him to bits and i guess the plants are nothing compared to his job of protecting us and guarding our home.

Marwind’s face looks naughty as compared to my previous German Shepherd JOHNNY VON KELLY. Johnny looked like a real gentleman. Oh i surely miss him.

I was feeling lazy today maybe because of the gloomy weather. How i wish i could cuddle with Ashton as he lay beside my laptop as i was typing this.

20160707_151134aaa

I played with Ashton’s paw in between my blogging and i thought his black beanies are cute.

20160707_151156aaa

Hello weekend 🙂 TGIF.

18 thoughts on “my 4-legged bodyguard

      • samanthamurdochblog says:

        Yes I grew up with GSD’s-they’re real thinking dogs! Mum used to show when she was younger- she won’t even watch Crufts now because of the lapse in breed standards..

      • elizz says:

        i was also disappointed with the breed standards now which is the sloped or arched back… luckily Marwind isn’t so i guess he is really not the show type as per breed standards now. It is hard to watch how GSDs with a very sloped back walk and run.

  1. Gail says:

    He is a beautiful German Shepherd. I’ve had 3 German Shepherds myself- a black and tan, a Sable, and a white. I love this breed….. so loyal and intelligent! Ashton has such lovely markings!

    • elizz says:

      that’s so true gail.. they are so loyal and how quick they learn.. they are really a wonderful breed.. Ashton is sending his purrs and kitty kisses.. thank you for dropping by 🙂

  2. samanthamurdochblog says:

    Really pleased to hear he’s not a banana back…the bitch that got through had no easy movement in her hips at all. Very sad, but I’m sure I heard something about how the show standards are being revised.

    • elizz says:

      oh yes, i’ve watched that.. it’s good to know that they are planning to revise the standards.. like you, i felt sad too watching how she walked/run and looking so awkward.

      • samanthamurdochblog says:

        Mum’s dog has a lovely gait walking or running. It said somewhere that as a working dog the GSD must be able to function, lot of breeders boycotted Crufts after, I heard.

Leave a Reply

