dainty as a cotton candy

I have a new favorite flower… COTTON CANDY. That’s right. It is really called cotton candy, a popular air plant. Actually it’s name is Tillandsia and cotton candy is just one of its hybrids. I searched online and I’ve known that air plants are so easy to maintain. It doesn’t need soil to grow and would just need some misting depending upon how hot the climate is. If it is unbearably hot, the plant needs to be dunked in water for quite a while and drip dry before displaying it again.

The reason why it is called cotton candy is because of its dainty soft blush to bright pink flowers that look so deliciously soft and pretty to eat like a fairy floss.

I found this plant during one of my shopping trips. Since i am unsure of where to place it as it needs to be in a semi-shade to bright light places and most importantly where the cats couldn’t reach it, i just took some photos of its flower. I promise myself that i would visit the plant nursery shops near my village and look for cotton candy hoping that i would get it at a much lower price. The ones i saw at the mall cost P200.00 or about US 4.30 per plant.

In the meantime, i am sharing these photos for your eyes to feast on.

20160701_154344aaa

20160701_154403aaa

20160701_154320aaa

20160701_154350_001aaa

For more good vibes, here’s a photo (grabbed from my son’s file) of my 2 rescued kitties Ashton and Kuting. Although both are puspins or domestic short hair native cats, they are exactly OPPOSITES in terms of manners. While Ashton, the gray tabby loves cuddle, Kuting the gingercat is still a bit hesitant for cuddles. Ashton is not at all impressed by the laser dot but Kuting loves to play with it non-stop. Kuting has a soft meow but he is the talkative one while Ashton rarely meows. But there’s this one SIMILARITY with the two of them that always make me smile… it’s the way they sit. So cute isn’t it?

20160623_000143aaa

(Note: no worries about Kuting’s tail. It was shaved by the vet for his tail docking. I found Kuting’s lower tail already dried sort of mummified due to an injury probably because of a fight with other feral cats. The vet docked his tail as well as neutered him and he is fine ever since and became an indoor cat from then on. Read more about him here.)

It’s a rainy Sunday out here but i love it.  🙂

10 thoughts on “dainty as a cotton candy

  1. K@countingpenniesandsheep says:

    What a gorgeous flower— definitely cotton candy material!! 🙂 Looks delicious enough to eat!! ahhhhh sweet cats… this comes from and avid cat and dog lover…
    great pictures –

    Kind regards and glad i stumbled onto your site- K

  2. sharingiscaring00 says:

    I love the plant and cotton candy..yes the plant is just like it. I am learning how to garden after my passed father. It was his love. I will one day have my own garden. Bless you.

  3. bikerchick57 says:

    Ashton and Kuting are adorable. I love when cats sit in that position – imitating the human form.

    Pretty flower as well. I was looking at air plants at the farmer’s market on Saturday, but I thought they were a bit pricey. No cotton candy, they all looked like succulents or cactus.

Leave a Reply

