photo of the day: orange flowers

This morning, i noticed orange flowers in bloom in my mother’s garden. When i asked her what those gorgeous looking flowers are, my mother said she doesn’t know because they just appeared in her garden.

orange flowers

orange flowers

Tomorrow, i’ll be back to my mother’s garden and will try to get some of these plants. I love the color of orange. Wildflowers or not, i want these plants in my garden.

Dear friends, do you know the name of this plant? I would appreciate it very much if you would message me what these flowers are. Thank you πŸ™‚

UPDATE: The flowers are called CROSSANDRA. Thank you Arlene and Maria.

31 thoughts on “photo of the day: orange flowers

  1. Ieonaa says:

    I got this browser plug-in that allows me to search google for similar images. I didn’t get anything perfectly similar.

    It seems like it hasn’t bloomed all yet and that it will get way bigger then. Also, the petals seem very soft.

    I found a few flowers that look similar in full bloom but no perfect match. I will ask my grandma but I doubt she knows.

    If you have access to a book that documents flowers somehow (at home or at a library) then you can try that. Alternatively, ask the neighbors, mainly the older ones or those with a flower garden. Just my 2 cents.

    The flower is breathtaking. πŸ™‚

    • elizz says:

      thank you leonaa.. yes, the petals are really soft.. some friends on wordpress are also helping me find out the name of the flower but they too aren’t that sure though.. btw, love your blog.

    • elizz says:

      they are beautiful, aren’t they? the post has been reblogged by some blogger friends (thank you) just to help me in finding out the real name of the flower, and i wish some bloggers would recognize it soon as the name is still a mystery.. believe it or not, it just sprouted in my mother’s garden.. although it seems wild because she did not plant it at all, she’s making them stay because of those gorgeous bright orange flowers..and i’m planning to get some of those hoping it’s going to grow successfully in my garden too when i plant it.

    • elizz says:

      sure thing! i would love to tell all blogger friends (including you of course) and announce the name of the flower once i found out as it had been also a mystery to them..

  2. Stefanie Neumann says:

    Maybe people of an online garden forum could help you with that. I have seen that some forums allow users to upload a picture with your question. If it’s not a local forum to your home it would probably also help if you give information about where the plant is located. (like northern/ southern hemisphere, continent, area…)

    It’s a very pretty plant and I can very well understand that you would like to know more about it. πŸ™‚

    • elizz says:

      thank you, i haven’t thought of that.. maybe i should also add the location on my next upload.. i’m planning of taking more photos of it at different angles and try to repost them on my blog with some descriptions.. and yes i would search for an online garden forum.. thanks

      • Stefanie Neumann says:

        Good idea to do such a post with more pictures and descriptions! When you put it up you maybe can even post a link to it in one of those plant- or garden forums. Might be easier than uploading several pictures in their comment section.

        I’m now curious myself what plant this beauty may be! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

