photo of the day: a curl and some bokeh

Being a green apple in photography, i never really knew the term ‘bokeh‘ until i found the word in one of the photoblogs that i’ve been following.

I took lot of photos during my little adventure in my backyard but one photo stood out the most because it accidentally had bokeh. I was so excited. I think i need to thank the little rays of sunshine that peeps through the leaves thus creating that burst of circular white lights at the background.

tendril

tendril

Bokeh has been defined as “the way the lens renders out-of-focus points of light”. The term comes from the Japanese word boke which means “blur” or “haze”. The English spelling bokeh was popularized in 1997  to suggest the correct pronunciation to English speakers. – excerpts from Wiki

Furthermore, as i searched around the web, i learned that there are also classifications of bokeh. These are the poor or the harsh bokeh, the neutral bokeh and the good bokeh. The harsh bokeh are those that similarly looked like donuts or with holes in the middle with hard outlined edges that are very distracting. The neutral ones show a smooth and slightly outlined edges. The good ones are those with super smooth edges that blend together nicely and appear soft and “creamy”. Well, based on Ken Rockwell’s diagram, i think my photo has a combination of neutral and good types of bokeh so i’m giving myself a little pat on the back. 🙂

17 thoughts on “photo of the day: a curl and some bokeh

  1. Georgia says:

    Lovely work. About a year ago I made some cut-outs for our camera lenses and my other half was playing with bokeh effects. We have a couple of good shots with the lights in the background formed into heart shapes by this improvised filter. The star shapes I made didn’t work so well. It is a good time to practise with some Christmas lights still being out.

    • elizz says:

      oh yes, i’ve read about it.. hmm, i’m not sure either if i could make that cute effects.. if only photography would love me more.. thanks for your comment, have a nice day 🙂

  2. mybeautfulthings says:

    Beautiful photo and thank you for teaching me about bokeh. Think I managed this once – completely by accident and without knowing what I was doing. I’m going to go back and look for the photo! 🙂

Leave a Reply

