Gardenia

Here in my country, gardenia is commonly known as rosal.  I find it really strange that some gardeners find gardenia one of the most difficult plants to manage and grow since it doesn’t want to be underwatered, overwatered, that buds/flowers should not be misted to prevent spotting, and that it needs plenty of light, etc.   For me, it is one of the plants that i really find easy to grow.  If i want to have another gardenia plant, i just cut some older or hardy stems, and just plant or insert the stem into the soil and after quite sometime, new leaves will grow for sure.  Well, maybe the soil in my garden has the right characteristics that they love so i’m quite pleased or maybe i’m a green thumb like my grandfather.

half opened gardenia bud

I love the creamy white flowers of gardenia and it has that distinct powerful sweet scent.  Although i always have a lot of these flowers in bloom everyday, i don’t usually have the cut flowers indoors because my kid doesn’t want its very sweet scent.  He says that he could almost taste the scent.  Surely, just a bunch of those will scent the whole house even up the stairs.

gardenia in full bloom

gardenia in full bloom with its creamy white soft petals

I grow plants for many reasons: to please my eye or to please my soul, to challenge the elements or to challenge my patience, for novelty or for nostalgia, but mostly for the joy in seeing them grow.
David Hobson

Related articles

Leave a Reply

