my own version of mac ‘n cheese

Mac ‘n cheese has got to be one of my favorite comfort foods.  It’s not only easy to prepare but also the ingredients are readily available in the pantry.

mac 'n cheese with golden and crusty bread crumbs topping

When cooking, i usually get inspiration from different web sites with regard to the ingredients and the procedure in preparing or cooking the dish.  Then, i’ll check my pantry and if one or any of the ingredients is not available i look for substitutes. Macaroni pasta, flour, pepper, salt, milk, light cream, mustard, cheese, butter, and panko breadcrumbs, yehey, everything is available in my pantry and fridge.

Some tips:

  • I’ve prepared mac ‘n cheese before but for today, i added about 1/4 tsp. of mustard.  Not only it gave my mac ‘n cheese some color but it actually improved the taste.
  • For the topping, i mix about 2 tbsp. of melted butter with the panko bread crumbs.  It will give the mac ‘n cheese that wonderful golden and crusty topping.
  • I’ve layered some grated mozzarella on the pasta, giving it some texture when baked.  It will also help bind the pasta together.

I served it with garlic bread with crushed parsley which has been sitting coldly on my freezer.  I just let it thaw for a while then pop it in the oven.

mac 'n cheese with garlic bread

Leave a Reply

